Historic Middle School Book Club

Loading Events

« All Events

Historic Middle School Book Club

October 8, 2023 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Free

Have a middle schooler who cannot get enough of history class? Is your teen an avid reader? Bring them to the Alexander Majors Barn for our bi-monthly historic book club. Middle schoolers from around the Kansas City area will gather to discuss a historically themed book, complete activities, and enjoy a snack.

Sign up for free through Eventbrite: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/historic-middle-school-book-club-tickets-239431434867?aff=ebdssbdestsearch

10/8/2023

 Red, White, and Whole by Rajani LaRocca

Book description:

Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s conflicted—they only notice when Reha doesn’t meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or Amma. Although their names are linked—Reha means “star” and Punam means “moon”—they are a universe apart.

Then Reha finds out that her Amma is sick. Really sick.

Reha, who dreams of becoming a doctor even though she can’t stomach the sight of blood, is determined to make her Amma well again. She’ll be the perfect daughter, if it means saving her Amma’s life.

From Indies Introduce author Rajani LaRocca comes a radiant story about the ties that bind and how to go on in the face of unthinkable loss. This is the perfect next read for fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhhà Lại.

Organizer

Wornall/Majors House Museums
Phone:
816-444-1858
Email:
programs@wornallmajors.org

Venue

Alexander Majors House & Barn
8201 State Line Rd.
Kansas City, MO 64114 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
816-444-1858

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.